11 Martin Luther King Quotes

Sometimes it’s good to go back and review a few lessons from the Master. In that vein – 10 +1 Quotes from MLK -

  1. Hatred paralyzes life; love releases it. Hatred confuses life; love harmonizes it. Hatred darkens life; love illuminates it.
  2. I believe that unarmed truth and unconditional love will have the final word in reality. That is why right, temporarily defeated, is stronger than evil triumphant. –Nobel Peace Prize Acceptance Speech, Dec. 10, 1964
  3. Let no man pull you low enough to hate him.
  4. Returning violence for violence multiplies violence, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars… Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.
  5. I submit that an individual who breaks a law that conscience tells him is unjust, and who willingly accepts the penalty of imprisonment in order to arouse the conscience of the community over its injustice, is in reality expressing the highest respect for the law.
  6. When you are right you cannot be too radical; when you are wrong, you cannot be too conservative.
  7. Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere. –letter from Birmingham jail, April 16, 1963
  8. The good neighbor looks beyond the external accidents and discerns those inner qualities that make all men human and, therefore, brothers. –”Strength to Love”
  9. I submit to you that if a man hasn’t discovered something he will die for, he isn’t fit to live.
  10. The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy. –”Strength to Love”

And Number 11?

The one Mssrs Robertson and Limbaugh, and a bunch of their ilk, should have tattoed to their foreheads -

Like an unchecked cancer, hate corrodes the personality and eats away its vital unity. Hate destroys a man’s sense of values and his objectivity. It causes him to describe the beautiful as ugly and the ugly as beautiful, and to confuse the true with the false and the false with the true.


7 Responses

  1. Have you noticed (I’m sure you have) that MLK’s message is being “re-written” into a message of racial justice, and not economic or political?

    I was listening to several tributes today, and the more progressive stations were playing quotes relating to poverty and politics – that were incredibly applicable today. Little has changed.

    • MLK’s messages are being abused all over the place by folks with a political agenda.

      His message after the passage of the Civil Rights act was one of “Social Justice” – dealing with the poor and disadvantaged of any color.

  2. BTW, check this out:

    http://www.richbenjamin.com/

    Written by a Black PhD who traveled to exclusively white enclaves and chronicled his experiences – I will be ordering.

    • I’ve heard about the book, but haven’t checked it out yet. When you get it, send me the list of Whitopias in Virginia. As the home of Colonial Heights, a bedroom community south of Richmond, which had on the water tower visible from Interstate 95 “Welcome to Colonial Heights, the Whitest Town in America” until the mid 70′s…

      It would be interesting to see.

  3. Another quote of note…from Letter from Birmingham Jail.

    We know through painful experience that freedom is never voluntarily given by the oppressor, it must be demanded by the oppressed.

  4. I said and asked the following on another blog:

    “I use to wonder how a person can enjoy life HATING others because they are different from them. Anyway, I no longer care I come to the conclusion they are miserable, but if someone can elaborate on people that hate others I would like to read your opinion.”

    BTx3 thank you for taking us back to review a few lessons from the Master; this is one of the reasons I LOVE reading your blog. I know people who hate have to be miserable, it is hard for me to explain but I needed elaboration.

    One of the many things MS does is take away your cognitive, it gets scary when your brain becomes scrambled, you begin to draw blanks, and you feel yourself losing your thoughts. I am not going to lie and say I do not let fear of what my future living with MS get to me sometimes. But, I know I have to keep doing whatever it takes to keep my brain functioning that is why I do not comment much, but reading blogs and doing other things to stimulate my mind helps. You have no idea how reading what the Master had to say about HATE has done for me today….THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

